My Journey into Bitcoin

My Journey into Bitcoin

“Heraclitus, I believe, says that all things pass and nothing stays, and comparing existing things to the flow of river, he says you could not step twice into the same river” - Plato.

This has been the case with me recently, in light of Plato's remark regarding change. Change has been a constant since the dawn of time, but so has the fear of change. I've recently experimented with numerous stages of personal and professional development, ranging from my tertiary education studies to job path selection. I finished with a Major in Biochemistry as one of five (5) outstanding students in my department, with the goal of pursuing a career in biochemical and forensic research. That was not the case, however, as life would have it. I changed careers to work in technology, or "new oil," as it's termed in Nigeria.

Despite my long-standing interest in software development, it was never a top priority for me. An ad for a software development bootcamp that a good buddy thought would be advantageous for me was one inflection point that led me to make this transition. I took it with a grain of salt and only signed up after a lot of convincing. Fast forward to now, and I can confidently say that enrolling in that bootcamp was one of the best decisions I've ever made.

I've worked as a front-end developer on a number of fintech projects, as well as on a number of regular contracts, which have helped me expand my knowledge and expertise. Because of my inquisitive personality, my newfound passion prompted me to investigate other hot issues and digital technologies. But, because that's what I'm used to, I required a systematic learning path. After a lot of searching, I came across Qala, which marked another turning point in my life. Qala paved the way for me to rebrand and accept my curiosity and interest in blockchain development, specifically the Bitcoin Protocol. Getting into the Qala program, whose purpose is to train the next generation of African Bitcoin developers to the highest degree possible, was a watershed moment in my understanding of how digital systems like Bitcoin and its relationship to the human context go hand in hand.

Life is all about transition, as Plato recognized, and nothing should ever remain the same but evolve. Moving forward, this chapter of my life, including bitcoin, has become more than a personal gain, but will also assist the community as a whole in the future. It is a well-known fact that a community-based approach to learning and problem-solving produces marginal and profitable results for the most part. Learning the basics of a system like Bitcoin is essential because, due to its permissionless and decentralized structure, the technology is driven by the community. Challenges will always be present on the path to success, as they are with any new feat or revolutionary change. But, as the saying goes, failure is only a stepping stone.

Humans have preferred routine since the dawn of humanity. It gives us a sense of control over our lives. Breaking the rules can result in ridicule and a lack of adoption, as Bitcoin has experienced and continues to experience. Bitcoin, though, is more than a tool; it is a revolution. I'm grateful that my shifting circumstances have led me to Bitcoin, and my goal is to make the most of my learning experience by applying it to the advancement of Bitcoin technology in Africa and around the world.